Downspike
Kendama Entertainment Network

A community for the balanced lifestyle.

KUSA weights are all over the place

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by rockem, Oct 2, 2019.

1. rockem

rockem n00b

Hi all,

This is a half rent, half question
    Why buying Kendamas is such a gamble? coming from yoyoing, this is a mystery to me.
    I bought about 7 kendamas over the last years from kusa and played only 3 of them. (tribute/craft/bishoff pro)
    Each time there's a different problem which harms the playability of it.

Of course I'm sure that for others these are non issue, but why can't they be more transparent on their website?
    Is the spec of a kendama meaningless? whenever I see a pro model being introduced, all they talk about is its looks and not a single word on the actual spec

Maybe I'm still a newbie, but I feel that even though Kendamas are much cheaper than yoyos, I still waste a lot of money to find something good to play with, and I would prefer that kusa would charge extra to make sure I would know what I'm getting

I guess I should stick to smaller brands where the cost is the same and the quality is better

What is your take on it?

Eli

Oct 2, 2019
  2. goenKendama

goenKendama Administrator Staff Member

Be mystified no more the answer is "trees." I don't follow yoyo as much anymore but unless someone other than Tom Kuhn is making high quality wooden yoyos I think you've found a big part of your answer. There's not as much control over the base material and creation of the kendama as there is in inorganic yoyo materials. Makers can control for some variation by taking time to sort and match sets but time is money and you're not likely to get an inexpensive kendama that is consistently dead-on weight/balance-wise.

I you are looking for a kendama with similar consistency to a yoyo then get a Catchy Air which is a plastic kendama made by Yoyo Factory. (no I'm not joking I actually like them: Catchy Kendama Air)

Check here for related threads: