Downspike
Kendama Entertainment Network

A community for the balanced lifestyle.

KWC- new rules

Discussion in 'The Sesh' started by sethtosta, May 2, 2017.

  1. sethtosta

    sethtosta Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Hi to all!,

    I was just checking the rules out for KWC 2017 and noticed a few new rules (at least I think they are new). The following are new:

    1-Qualifying now consists of 12 tricks, not 10. Each player will have 1 back up trick that they can preform each preliminary round. Caveat being that the back up trick can't exceed the lowest point value in your 5 "main tricks". The reason is, if you miss a trick from your original 5, you can hit your back up and use those points. Gloken explains it well on the website.
    2- 6 automatic bids will be given to the following- 3 past champs and the winner of the North American, Asian, and European championship. The top 25 players from qualifying rounds, excluding the 6 automatic bids advance to finals as well as 4 wild card.
    3- level 11 and 12 can only be used in
    finals.
    4- If Kendama touches hand or clothes, and you keep going, trick will be judged as "failed" and you will lose 200 points.

    Other than those changes, everything seems the same. Thoughts on the new rules??
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2017
    May 2, 2017
    Steph Lussier and James Hoang like this.
  2. J-Swish

    J-Swish Honed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Location:
    Reno NV

    Automatic bids are sooo lame...not a fan of this rule.
     
    May 2, 2017
  3. Steph Lussier

    Steph Lussier Honed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Location:
    Calgary, AB, Canada
    I like how the new rules were taken from other sports World Cup and it does make sense.

    Also losing 200 points is pretty crazy but I dig it!
     
    May 2, 2017
    sambarboo likes this.
  4. Nick Lectura

    Nick Lectura Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I like the lose 200 points thing, I think it'll enforce those who did it last year to not do it anymore
     
    May 2, 2017
    sambarboo, KeeganS and Steph Lussier like this.
  5. Gasiek

    Gasiek Slayer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Location:
    Poland Wrocław
    What are automatic bids?
     
    May 3, 2017
  6. J-Swish

    J-Swish Honed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Location:
    Reno NV
    It means you make it to finals without competing in qualifying rounds
     
    May 3, 2017
    Steph Lussier and Gasiek like this.
  7. sethtosta

    sethtosta Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Does anyone know what the North American championship is??
     
    May 3, 2017
  8. Nick Lectura

    Nick Lectura Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    wondering this as well. My initial guess was Sakura, but then I realized that might not be a big enough event
     
    May 3, 2017
    Guy LaBorde likes this.
  9. sethtosta

    sethtosta Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    I'm thinking MKO.
     
    May 3, 2017
    sambarboo, furin, Guy LaBorde and 2 others like this.
  10. azleonhart

    azleonhart Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    I believe what they meant to say are "automatic byes".
     
    May 3, 2017
  11. Nick Lectura

    Nick Lectura Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    totally forgot about MKO, that's probably it
     
    May 3, 2017
    Steph Lussier likes this.
  12. James Sevilla

    James Sevilla Honed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Location:
    Dublin, CA (Bay Area)
    I like that 11-12 can only be used to finals rule, so they can't bump up their score in the first round.
     
    May 11, 2017
    Gasiek and Bagel like this.
  13. michael.

    michael. Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Location:
    tokyo.
    some new rules got posted today, some of which are sure to be a little controversial in my opinion. apparently you can now use kendamas with drilled holes (this includes stuff like bolts drilled into big cup a la 'lunar of today' mods), and you can use "attachments" for your kendama. i'm assuming that means lunar bands and the putty stuff. however, you can't take it off during your 3 minutes or switch any of it out.

    so, what do y'all think of this?
     
    May 22, 2017
  14. rTTn

    rTTn Slayer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I definitely don't approve of any kind of external mod like Bolts or Lunatac/Slaybands for competition use. Whatever, for a hole drilled in the base.
     
    May 22, 2017
    KeeganS likes this.
  15. KeeganS

    KeeganS DS Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    I'm not a fan of this rule, but I dont see many players actually using them (especially those who've continuously placed in at least the top 10 in previous KWCs).
    To me, these 'attachments' like the slaybands and putty stuff (totally thought about Power Ranger Putties at first too) are learning tools, not meant for competition and I think that's how @Steezdiaz intended them to be (correct me if I'm wrong).
     
    May 22, 2017
    James Hoang likes this.
  16. CodyGriz

    CodyGriz Honed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Wait... what?

    "– The use of detachable attachment (accessory) to kendama is NOT allowed."
    https://www.gloken.net/en/kwc/201705021723/

    Where are you seeing that this IS ok?
     
    May 22, 2017
    James Hoang likes this.
  17. CodyGriz

    CodyGriz Honed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN

    Can you please link?
     
    May 22, 2017
  18. Thomas Ishikawa

    Thomas Ishikawa Honed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    @CodyGriz
    It's in the Japanese Rules and was added today (Japan Time). I can't read well but my post should clarify until Michael can respond back. This is from Gloken's KWC rules on the Japanese side (https://www.gloken.net/jp/kwc/201705021324/).

    "取り外し可能なアタッチメント(付属物)を、3分間の挑戦時間内に取り外すこと、または交換することは認められません。
    ※けん玉の本体形状を成すもので、取り外しは可能だが固定されている物、もしくは内部に埋め込まれている物を使用すること自体は問題ありません。(2017年5月22日改定)"
    "Detachable attachments (accessories) during the 3 minute rounds are not to come off or to be swapped.
    ※If the kendama's body or shape is altered, such as an accessories, we might ask you to take it off, but if it is fixed or embedded onto the kendama, it is okay."

    From what i'm reading, it sounds like you "could" have one on but the ※ portion is really hard for me to understand... I'm just a White Washed Japanese kid trying to read a foreign language lol #japaneseishard
     
    May 22, 2017
    sambarboo likes this.
  19. michael.

    michael. Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Location:
    tokyo.
    i'm going off of the japanese post that was made on the 22nd, and i am hoping that i'm not translating this wrong. can any other japanese speakers confirm or correct what i'm thinking it says?

    https://www.gloken.net/jp/kwc/201705021324/
     
    May 22, 2017
  20. Thomas Ishikawa

    Thomas Ishikawa Honed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I just emailed GLOKEN but you can check out how I interpreted the updated rule in the post above you.
    But @Michael my Japanese isn't a native level either (Japanese American, never lived in Japan but studied for a little) so let's just wait for what GLOKEN has to say haha
     
    May 22, 2017