Downspike
Kendama Entertainment Network

A community for the balanced lifestyle.

Pen Spinners

Discussion in 'Non-Dama Drama' started by lategreat808, Dec 11, 2017.

1. lategreat808

lategreat808 DS Legend

Any pen spinners out there? I am looking to get into it but didn't really know where to start.

Dec 11, 2017
  2. theligitchriswhit

theligitchriswhit Honed Member

I have little experience spinning pens and normally use a pencil in school. I did find this video however and the pen he made looks pretty ok Screenshot_20171211-183550.png

Dec 11, 2017
  3. theligitchriswhit

theligitchriswhit Honed Member

Just made the pen and it's pretty good. I've never used a real pen spinning pen but this works better than a pencil, finding the little grip was the hardest part.

Dec 11, 2017
  4. Thomas Ishikawa

Thomas Ishikawa Honed Member

I do. It was my first hobby from middle school all the way until beginning of college. I used to be pretty active on the pen spinning forum called UPSB (universal pen spinning board).
    Very similar to Downspike but I would say the audience is a lot younger but it was super active when I was into it.

If you want to buy premade mods or pen parts, go to penwish his website looks jank but he’s legit. I bought from him since 2009. For beginners buy a double sided mod. It looks dumb cause it looks like a botan but it’s center of balance is in the middle so it’s easier to learn tricks. Start of with a medium weight mod so a Comssa mod is the best. If you want something that looks like a pen go with RSVP MX. Literally the ozora/tk16 of the pen spinning community. They’re not too expensive so maybe buy one of each and see how you like them.