Downspike
Kendama Entertainment Network

A community for the balanced lifestyle.

Slaydawg for novice

Discussion in 'The Sesh' started by zaktrials, Jan 10, 2017.

1. zaktrials

zaktrials n00b

Hey guys,
    As my last post stated I am a beginner but totally into playing, very addicting. I'm seeing all around that the slaydawg is the "best" kendama around. Would you recommend it for a beginner? What makes them so much better than anything else? Which model slaydawg would you recommend?
    Thanks in advance!

Jan 10, 2017
    lategreat808 likes this.
  2. Ian McDonell

Ian McDonell Member

I'd say any kendama is good for a beginner. It's all about how much you want to pay for one. Seeing that the slaydawg is on the more expensive side (60) it may not be the best price wise for a beginner. It has an amazing clear coat that is just the right amount of tack. It does break in and become somewhat slick. I have the 3D Don it's maple so it really durable but if you want to support your favorite Krom pro pick up one of their pro mods! Peace!

Jan 10, 2017
    zaktrials likes this.
  3. Ian McDonell

Ian McDonell Member

Ps. If you want more info shoot me a message!

Jan 10, 2017
  4. lategreat808

lategreat808 DS Legend

Honestly...for a beginner I would just buy a Sol Pioneer. It will be way cheaper and for a beginner it will give you a lot of the same advantages of a Slaydawg without being too pricey.

I also want to add that as a beginner you should check out kendamasyndicate.com
    KS has some really good kendamas for very cheap, like $15 AFTER SHIPPING! I recommend the Shin Fuji Rokurosen, the TK16, or the natty BLK OG's. The Shin Fuji would be good for a beginner because they break in nice and fast. And also the TK16 is a standard high gloss so it's great for learning around style tricks.