Downspike
Kendama Entertainment Network

A community for the balanced lifestyle.

Broken in?

Discussion in 'The Sesh' started by Almostgets, Oct 14, 2016.

1. Almostgets

Almostgets Slayer

What's a broken in kendama? Can someone please post a picture?

And most of my new kendamas feel better and stickier than my used/older kendamas. This could be due to what i've purchased lately: kenco's painted zen, tis pro model, viking with cushion, and dwi stick af.

And what's the benefit to a natty kendama, because it seems slippery af to me.

Oct 14, 2016
  2. Ben Lowe

Ben Lowe Slayer

I'm still a newbie, but my understanding is that different woods and paints tend to break in differently. So super sticky paint often breaks in to become LESS sticky. Whereas Kendamas that have glossy or hardcoat paint can break in and get more tacky/grippy with time, depending. I have an Ozora that started super slick but now it has some more grip after being "broken in" after a few months.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong on this, but my understanding of "breaking in" a kendama also relates to the area around the bevel getting all worn and stuff, making stalls easier. Also, the cups will wear in which can affect play as well. All of these things differ depending on Kendama brand and wood.

Again, speaking as someone with little experience, most natty kendamas DO start out super slick (maybe minus like a raw GT or something??) but as you use them and get sweat and oil from your hands and they get beat up, they will develop a natural tack to them that makes them a bit more grippy. Benefits are personal preference I think. Some people add beeswax to add some grip.

Okay like I said, newbie here, hopefully the old pros will weigh in and correct me if I'm wrong on any of this.

Sounds like you have newer style modern paint that either starts really grippy/sticky and lessens over time, or maintains a similar tackiness throughout.

Oct 14, 2016
  3. htimSxelA

htimSxelA Moderator Staff Member